He Inoa

SKU: 09947000

Special Price $12.99

In Stock


Product Description

After an eight-year break from the recording studio, multiple Na Hoku Hanohano Award winners Maunalua return with their highly-anticipated fourth album – He Inoa (“We Are” Maunalua, which introduces their newest member, ‘ukulele and guitar player Richard Gideon).

Continuing their tradition of blending their unique harmonies, ki ho`alu guitar and ukulele, the album is a collection of traditional Hawaiian songs such as “Hilo One” in a medley with William S. Ellis’ “Hula O Makee”; hula standards such as “Pua `Ahihi” (a trademark song of the Kahauanu Lake Trio); and several original songs, including one by band member Bobby Moderow (“Spirit of Hawaii”) and another by the award-winning Kumu Hula and multi-Na Hoku Award winner Manu Boyd, who composed “Maunalua He Inoa” specially for them. Long-time fans of their live shows will love the inclusion of fan-favorite “He Is the Only Reason,” with a twist suggested by Producer Dave Tucciarone that adds a whole new dimension to the song – that of Denny Hemingson’s (Tim McGraw and Faith Hill) pedal steel guitar, which gives it a bit of a country gospel feel.

Long time fans and new ones alike will love this latest offering from Bobby Moderow, Jr., Kahi Kaonohi, and Richard Gideon...MAUNALUA!

14 Tracks:
1. Maunalua He Inoa
2. Hilo One / Hula O Makee
3. Pohai Kealoha
4. Ke `Ala O Ka Rose
5. Mele `O Ka Kaho`olawe
6. Aloha `Ia `O Wai`anae
7. Ku`u Pua Mae`ole
8. He Punahele No `Oe
9. Waikiki Hula
10. Ke Aloha
11. Nani
12. Pua `Ahihi
13. Spirit of Hawaii
14. He Is The Only Reason